Emergency Restore – VDP 5.5 (Case Study)

Characters : TOM & JERRY ( TOM helps JERRY here…and *NO FUN*, all SERIOUS) 

JERRY:

  • My vCenter is crashed and unable to start/connect
  • I also have a crash on one of my production VM.
  • The VM is business critical and need to be restored immediately. Of course, I have protected it through VDP 5.5
  • But VDP is tightly integrated with vCenter. Will I be able to restore my production VM, even when vCenter is down ?

TOMYes, It is possible to restore your production VM without vCenter, with the cool new feature called ‘Emergency Restore‘ in VDP 5.5

JERRYThats great!. Where do i start now ?

TOM:

ER_list.JPG

JERRY:

  • Yes, I could see my production VM listed from one of the 6 VDP appliances in my environment
  • Where can i restore the VM to ?

TOM:

  • You can restore the VM only to the ESXi host on which VDP is residing
  • Make sure of these pre-requisites now
    • DNS of VDP should be able to resolve its hosting ESXi host name
    • The ESXi host on which VDP is hosted should be disassociated from the vCenter, by connecting to the host directly through vSphere client -> Summary -> Host Management -> ‘”Disassociate Host from vCenter

ER-Disassociate.JPG

JERRYI have no track of the ESXi host where my VDP resides. Also i have DRS enabled on the cluster, so VDP might be on any of my 32 hosts. Can’t VDP identify it automatically ?

TOM:

  • Currently VDP cannot identify its hosting ESXi automatically. I have requested a feature for this.
  • You have no option left other than connecting to each host directly through vSphere client and then disassociate the ESXi host on which VDP resides.

JERRY:

  • With a bit of pain, I could identify the specific ESXi host and disassociate it from the vCenter. Worth it, if I can recover my VM successfully from VDP

TOM:

  • Sure, I can help you with that. Follow the steps as mentioned below.
  • Goto VDP configuration Utility(https://<ipaddress-of-VDP-appliance>:8543/vdp-configure/) -> Emergency Restore tab.
  • Select the VM and ‘Restore-point’ you would like to restore. Click ‘Restore’, which allows you to enter the ESXi host details on which VDP resides as in screen below
  • ER-host.JPG
  • In the above screen, it would have been nice if VDP could detect the ESXi host automatically. (Feature Requested)
  • You may notice an error like this if the ESXi host is not disassociated from the vCenter (below screen)
  • disassociate-error.JPG
  • In the next step, you need to provide a name for the VM being restored and the destination datastore. If you are in this screen, means that VDP successfully resolved its residing ESXi host to proceed further
  • ER-VM.JPG
  • Now restore will be started and you can monitor the status in the loading bar (screens below)
  • ER-OK.JPG
  • ER-Success.JPG

JERRY: Perfect ! Glad that VDP provides such a nice feature called ‘Emergency Restore’. (Restore a backed up VM even in case if vCenter is down).  KUDOS !!!!!!!!!

4 Comments

  1. Ken
    Posted 15-Nov-2013 at 7:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Good article.

  2. Posted 26-May-2014 at 7:51 am | Permalink | Reply

    Excellent web site. A lot of helpful information here.
    I am sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And certainly, thanks on your effort!

  3. Posted 30-May-2014 at 2:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention that I’ve truly loved browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing in your feed and I’m hoping you write once more
    soon!

  4. find a jobheadhunter
    Posted 17-Aug-2014 at 9:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Spot on with this write-up, I seriously feel this web site needs much more attention.
    I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the info!

Leave a comment